FOREWORD

The 1986 Linear Accelerator Conference was held at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center from June 2 through 6, 1986. The conference was the thirteenth in a series which started at the Brookhaven National Laboratory in 1961. It was attended by 342 participants of which 274 came from North America, 52 from Europe and 16 from Asia. A complete list of participants can be found at the end of these Proceedings.

The general format of the program was agreed upon at an International Advisory meeting held on May 15, 1985, during the Particle Accelerator Conference in Vancouver, British Columbia, and at two Program Committee meetings held at SLAC on July 26, 1985, and January 23, 1986, respectively. A summary of the program schedule is included. As can be seen, all five morning sessions were reserved for invited talks on topics of general interest in the field of linear accelerators, and all contributed papers were scheduled for the afternoon poster sessions. This division of time, which gave invited speakers twenty-five minutes for their talks plus five minutes for questions, allowed for a relatively relaxed pace and good overall communication. In addition, an experiment was tried in which some of the contributed poster papers were selected for five-minute introductory oral presentations, like "commercials," at the beginning of each afternoon session. It turned out that the speakers who made these presentations were very effective in transferring information in such a short time. They stimulated interest in their papers, and improved the flow of information during the subsequent poster sessions.

Our Proceedings consist of 29 invited papers and 130 contributed papers which are arranged in the order in which they were given in their respective morning and afternoon sessions.

During a conference luncheon on June 5, a meeting was held to discuss the location of the next linear accelerator conference to be held in 1988. Two possible sites were actively proposed: CEBAF and KEK. After considerable discussion, the chairman of the 1986 conference was charged with obtaining additional information and then recommending a choice. Subsequent consultations led to the conclusion that CEBAF would be the logical site for the 1988 conference and that Dr. Christoph Leemann would be the next chairman.

The entertainment at the conference consisted of an evening dinner cruise on the San Francisco Bay and a conference dinner with Professor Donald Johanson, of the Institute of Human Origins in Berkeley, who spoke on the origins of man. An official tour of SLAC was organized for the afternoon of June 6. The conference was closed by Dr. Norbert Angert, from GSI, Darmstadt, Cochairman of the 1984 Linear Accelerator Conference, who gave a conference summary which appears following the conference schedule.

As is well known, no conference of this magnitude can be brought about without the dedication of a large number of people working together as well as individually to make it a success. Except for inadvertent omissions, the names of all of the people involved in the organization of the conference are listed hereafter. In addition to those people who attended the International Advisory meeting, the members of the Program Committee, the Organizing Committee, the session chairmen and the speakers, recognition is given to the people who worked in the control room, the floor managers, the staff of the SLAC publications and illustrations department, and the travel and housing offices. Special thanks go to Bernie Lighthouse, Nina Adelman and the staff of the Public Affairs office who made many of the conference arrangements, to Don Farwell who took responsibility for the audio-visual equipment and to Harry Hoag who designed and engineered the poster boards. Ricky Campisi must be singled out as the person who sorted out and classified all the papers and helped us put them in the order in which they were finally presented, and Lucy Cheung, Kevin Johnston and Sylvia MacBride are thanked for all their work in putting these Proceedings together. Last but certainly not least, very special thanks go to Bette-Jane Ferandin for her tireless efforts from beginning to end in the overall organization and success of the conference.

> Gregory A. Loew Conference Chairman