PREFACE

The tenth European Particle Accelerator Conference, EPAC'06, the biggest ever, took place at the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) from Monday to Friday, 26 to 30 June 2006, and was attended by over 1050 delegates from 33 different countries on all continents. Held under the auspices of the European Physical Society Accelerator Group (EPS-AG), it was hosted by the CCLRC Rutherford Appleton and Daresbury Laboratories. As at previous conferences in the series, the attendance of almost sixty young scientists from all over the world was made possible through the sponsorship of the following European laboratories and institutions: John Adams Institute, University of Oxford and Royal Holloway University of London, ALBA, BESSY, CCLRC, CERN, Cockcroft Institute, DESY, Diamond Light Source, ELETTRA, ESRF, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, GSI, Imperial College of Science and Technology, INFN, MSL, PSI, Synchrotron Soleil. The organizers of EPAC are grateful to all sponsors for their valuable support.

The conference was opened by Christopher Prior, ASTeC RAL and Trinity College Oxford, Chairman of the EPS-AG and the EPAC'06 Organizing Committee, and by John Thomason, ISIS RAL, Chairman of the Local Organizing Committee. Barry Barish of CALTECH, leading the ILC Project, opened the scientific programme with a presentation entitled *The Global Design Initiative for an International Linear Collider*. Stefano Chiocchio, a leading member of the ITER Project team, gave an inspiring closing presentation on *ITER and International Scientific Collaboration*. Close to eighty invited and contributed oral presentations of very high quality were made during the week, including EPAC's usual "Entertainment" presentation, provocatively entitled Before the Big Bang: An Outrageous New Perspective and its Implications for Particle Physics, admirably delivered by Roger Penrose of Oxford's Mathematical Institute.

The scientific programme was organized by the EPAC'06 Scientific Programme Committee (SPC) chaired by Caterina Biscari, INFN-LNF, Frascati. It spanned four and a half days, with parallel sessions on three mornings and poster sessions on four afternoons. There were 51 invited papers, 28 contributed oral presentations, and close to 1130 poster presentations.

An industrial exhibition took place during the first three days of the conference. Fifty companies presented their high technology products and services to the delegates in an excellent atmosphere conducive to discussions. Mike Dykes, CCLRC DL and Dan Faircloth, CCLRC RAL, did a really excellent and professional job organizing this exhibition.

The EPS-AG Accelerator Prizes for 2006 were awarded as follows. The prize for a young physicist or engineer was attributed to Lutz Lilje, DESY, Hamburg "In recognition of his major role in the development and testing of high gradient superconducting RF structures, including his original contributions in the development of fast tuning systems". The prize for outstanding work in the accelerator field was awarded to Vladimir Teplyakov, IHEP, Protvino "In recognition of his major role in the development and testing of high gradient superconducting RF structures, including his original contributions in the development of fast tuning systems." A third, new prize for a student registered for a PhD or diploma in accelerator physics or engineering, for quality of work and promise for the future, "for designing, building and testing an ultra-stable timing and synchronisation system for linac driven FELs providing 20 fs precision over long distances" was awarded to Axel Winter, DESY and University of Hamburg. The prizes were presented by the Chairman of the 2006 Prizes Selection Committee, Norbert Angert, GSI, and the Chairman of the EPS-AG, Christopher Prior.

The main medium for the proceedings of this conference is publication on the JACoW site (www.jacow.org). There will be no hard copy volumes. The processing of the electronic files of contributions prior to, during and after the conference, was achieved by a dynamic team composed of "seasoned experts" and volunteers from the Joint Accelerator Conferences Website (JACoW) collaboration. Thanks to the work of this team and the careful preparations and guidance of Hywel Owen, DL, Christine Petit-Jean-Genaz and John Poole, CERN, a preliminary version of the proceedings was published less than 5 working days after the conference. The final version was published at the JACoW site less than one month after the conference. An all time record.

The success of EPAC'06 can be attributed to the efforts of the OC, chaired by Christopher Prior, the SPC, chaired by Caterina Biscari, and the LOC: Freddie Akeroyd, Dan Faircloth, Andy Kimber, Matt North, Christopher Prior, RAL, Mike Dykes, Hywel Owen, Mike Poole, Susan Smith, Sue Waller, Naomi Wyles, DL, Malcolm McMahon, Edinburgh, Giulia Bellodi, Christine Petit-Jean-Genaz and John Poole, CERN, under the chairmanship of John Thomason, RAL.

Christopher Prior, Chairman of the EPAC'06 Organizing Committee