

STOCHASTIC COOLING DEVELOPMENTS FOR THE SPECTROMETER RING (SRING) IN THE HIAF PROJECT AT IMP

G.Y. Zhu, J.X. Wu, Y. Zhang, Y. Wei, H.M. Xie, L. Jing, Z. Du, X.J. Hu J.W. Xia, IMP, Lanzhou, China.

We report on the preliminary design of Slot-ring and Faltin type pickups and kickers for stochastic pre-cooling of rare isotope beams from 625 MeV/u to 840 MeV/u (beta: 0.80-0.85), or from 400 MeV/u to 625 MeV/u (beta: 0.71-0.80), using a bandwidth of 1-2 GHz (or 0.6-1.2 GHz) for Spectrometer ring (Sring) in the HIAF project at IMP. The kicker shunt impedance and signal output phase of Slot-ring and Faltin type are calculated by HFSS. From the simulation results, Slot-ring structure is better for higher beta (0.80-0.85), and Faltin type will be a better choice for beta from 0.71 to 0.80, if the beam aperture is 200 mm*120 mm.



Slot-ring structure (bandwidth: 1-2 GHz, 0.6-1.2 GHz)



Figure 5: Slot-ring kicker longitudinal shunt impedance per cell with ceramic Ø=118 mm when cell length is 13.5 mm.

Figure 6: Slot-ring kicker longitudinal shunt impedance per cell with ceramic Ø=118 mm when cell length is 13.5 mm.

Figure 7: Slot-ring kicker longitudinal shunt impedance per cell with ceramic Ø=200 mm when cell length is 13.5 mm.

Faltin structure (bandwidth: 1-2 GHz, 0.6-1.2 GHz)



Figure 9: kicker longitudinal shunt impedance of Faltin type ,when the distance from electrode to slot is 7 mm.

Figure 10: Nonlinear phase deviation when d=7 mm.

Figure 11: kicker longitudinal shunt impedance of Faltin type, when the distance from electrode to slot is 12 mm.



Figure 12 (a): A full HFSS simulation model with rectangular aperture 200*120 mm, slot section=0.75 m; (b): cross section.

Figure 13: kicker longitudinal shunt impedance of Faltin type with 0.75 m, when rectangular aperture is 200*120 mm.

Conclusion:

If aperture diameter is 118 mm, slot-ring structure will be better for HIAF (see Fig. 6).
If aperture size is 200mm*120mm, and beam energy is from 400 MeV/u to 625 MeV/u (beta: 0.71-0.80), probably Faltin structure will be chosen (see Fig. 13).

Acknowledgements:

The authors thank Lars Thorndahl, Fritz Caspers, Wolfgang Hofle , Endre Rorlien Bjorsvik from CERN for their help. They also gratefully acknowledge Bernd Breitkreutz and Rolf Stassen from FZJ for their fruitful discussion and advice.