Author: Rathsman, K.
Paper Title Page
THPEA038 ESS Naming Convention 3222
  • K. Rathsman, G. Trahern
    ESS, Lund, Sweden
  • J. Malovrh Rebec, M. Reščič, M. Vitorovic
    Cosylab, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  The European Spallation Source is an intergovernmental project building a multidisciplinary research laboratory based upon thermal neutrons. The main facility will be built in Lund, Sweden. Construction is expected to start 2013 and the first neutrons will be produced in 2019. The ESS linac will deliver 5 MW of power to the target at 2.5 GeV, with a nominal current of 50 mA. The ESS Naming Convention is based on a standard, originally developed for the Super Superconducting Collider (SSC) and later adopted by other large research facilities, e.g. the Spallation Neutron Source (SNS), Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB), International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER), and the Continuous Electron Beam Accelerator Facility (CEBAF). The ESS Naming Convention was agreed upon and approved at a very early stage of the ESS project in order to establish a standard before names started to evolve. The main scope was to standardise meaningful, yet short and mnemonic signal and device names. The present paper describes the naming convention, the site wide implementation at ESS and associated web based tools.