Foreword

GANIL was honoured to host the 15th International Conference on Cyclotrons and their Applications at the Centre de Congrès in the heart of the city of Caen from 14–19 June 1998. For the second time, we had the pleasure of welcoming our colleagues from all over the world, cyclotron builders and users.

The international character of this meeting is illustrated by the 33 countries represented and by the 239 delegates coming from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Iran, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Morocco, Poland, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Slovak Republic, Switzerland, Sweden, the Netherlands, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA, Uzbekistan and Yugoslavia.

The conference consisted of 12 oral sessions, with 19 invited papers, 30 contributed papers and a Round Table, and of two poster sessions including 124 papers. However, the total number of registered participants was inferior by two units to the record of our challenger, TRIUMF, Vancouver, 1992 (241 delegates).

The International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS /IN2P3), the Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique (CEA/DSM), the Conseil Général and the Conseil Régional of Lower Normandy generously sponsored the conference. A number of other sponsors, listed elsewhere, are gratefully acknowledged for their help in the success of this meeting. The Mayor of the City of Caen offered a reception in the magnificent 18th century Town Hall. The President of the Conseil Général of Lower Normandy opened the conference on Monday morning, followed by a welcoming address by Daniel Guerreau, Director of GANIL.

The scientific programme was, of course, organized by the Programme Committee, chaired by Marcel Lieuvin, head of the SPIRAL project, with the help of our colleagues B Launé (IPN, Orsay), G Rickewaert (UCL, Louvain) and H Schreuder (KVI, Groningen). Thanks are also due to J Cornell and A H Botha of NAC, hosts of the previous conference, for valuable information on the organization of such meetings. In the programme, special attention was paid to the various uses of the cyclotron, extending nowadays far beyond basic research in nuclear and atomic physics: increasing room has to be made for other applications such as isotope production, therapy and industrial tests, not forgetting high-power beams for energy amplifiers and waste treatment projects.

Special thanks must go to M Craddock for proposing that we commemorate a pioneer of our scientific community who passed away last winter: Reginald Richardson.

The Local Organizing Committee members and their helpers put much effort into ensuring the success of the day-to-day operation of the meeting. Christine Lemaitre, Conference Secretary, and Monique Bex, responsible for all editing questions, were unstinting in their efforts, while Solange Geswend handled most of the typing relating to the announcements and the proceedings. Patrick Bertrand, Bernard Launé and Michel Lion looked after the database, the cyclotron data sheets and all the questions related to writing instructions and collection of abstracts and papers. Laurent Fortin designed a superb website. Special credit must go to Jacques Dutzy, Bruno Bouvin and Sophie Rastello for taking care of the financial aspects, as well as Sylviane Lenoël-Goin for assisting Marcel Lieuvin. The computer room and slide projections were taken care of by Daniel Outin and Jean-Louis Foucher, the poster arrangements by Jean-Luc Vignet and the industrial exhibition by Jean-Louis Baelde.

Coordination of the GANIL visit was directed by Véronique Dufay and the barbecue by Jérôme Fournier. Special thanks go to Maurice Gallis who took care of all the safety aspects, to Marie-Françoise L'Honorey for her perfect organization of the various tours and to Jacques Fermé, Bernard Bru, Nelly and François Loyer who served as guides. A special word of thanks must go to all the other people who played a sometimes obscure, though indispensable, role in this organization.

The International Organizing Committee met during the Conference; the retiring members of the Committee (E Acerbi, R Pollock, H Schreuder and U Trinks) were thanked for their years of service and the two new members, H Jungwirth of NAC (elected in 1997 following A H Botha's retirement) and S Brandenburg of KVI (elected in session), were welcomed. The question of appointment to membership was debated, with the conclusions that no written rules should be established on the subject and that members should be retained on the basis of their individual value and not as a representative of a community or laboratory. It was decided by vote to invite Dr Y Jongen to join the IOC, provided he would accept the above-mentioned principle.

Finally, the IOC accepted the MSU's proposal to host the next conference in 2001 at East Lansing and Henry Blosser was thanked for this invitation.

Eric Baron

Chairman of the Local Organizing Committee, Member of the IOC