PREFACE

The seventh European Particle Accelerator Conference, EPAC 2000, took place at the Austria Center Vienna (ACV) from Monday to Friday, 26 to 30 June 2000. It was organized by the Institute of High Energy Physics of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna, and was attended by over 700 participants from around 30 different countries. As at previous conferences in the series, a special effort was made to support the attendance of young and Eastern European scientists. Twenty-two young scientists were supported from the conference budget. The attendance of these and Eastern European scientists was facilitated thanks to contributions from the following European laboratories and institutions: BESSY, CEA-DSM, CERN, CLRC, DESY, EC-JRC-IRMM, FZJ, GSI, HMI, INFN, IN2P3, MSL, PSI, EPS, the Austrian Academy of Sciences and the Ministry of Education, Science and Culture. Altogether, in addition to the students, 36 participants could be fully supported and several more conference fees were waived.

EPAC 2000 was held under the auspices of the European Physical Society Interdivisional Group on Accelerators (EPS-IGA) and was supported by the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austrian Airlines, the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Culture, Bank Austria, Telekom Austria and the City of Vienna. Many thanks to all sponsors.

The conference was opened by Dr. Stephen Myers, Chairman of the EPS-IGA and the EPAC 2000 Organizing Committee, and by Professor Meinhard Regler, Chairman of the Local Organizing Committee (LOC). The opening lecture was given by Professor Ugo Amaldi, Honorary CERN Staff member, now at the University of Milano Bicocca and the TERA Foundation, Novara. The closing lecture was given by Dr. Cecilia Jarlskog, CERN.

The scientific programme spanned four and a half days, with parallel sessions on three mornings and poster sessions on four afternoons. There were 64 invited papers (including the special session for industry), 30 contributed oral presentations and over 700 poster papers. A special seminar for industry was organized under the Chairmanship of Professors Professor Meinhard Regler and Manfred Krammer. The conference also provided facilities for meetings of specialized groups.

An industrial exhibition took place during the first three days of the conference. Thirty-seven international companies presented their high technology products and services to the conference delegates in an excellent atmosphere conducive to discussions between companies and customers. The exhibition was organized by Professor Manfred Krammer.

The EPS-IGA accelerator prizes for 2000 were attributed as follows. The prize for a young physicist or engineer was attributed to Dr. Pantaleo Raimondi, SLAC, for inventing and applying practical techniques which improved the beam diagnostics at the interaction point and from this given an understanding which has increased the luminosity of both LEP and the Stanford Linear Collider. The prize for outstanding work in the accelerator field was awarded to Dr. Eberhard Keil, CERN, for seminal contributions to numerous topics including instability theory, beam-beam effects, beam optics, nonlinear resonances, and beam environment impedance which have contributed to the design of every major accelerator in the last 35 years. The prizes were presented by the Chairman of the Prizes Selection Committee, Dr. Victor Suller, and the Chairman of the EPS-IGA, Dr. Stephen Myers.

The main media for the proceedings of this conference is the CD-ROM distributed to all participants. The processing of the electronic files of contributions during and after the conference was achieved by a dynamic team composed of "experts" and volunteers drawn from staff involved in the preparation of proceedings of the PAC, EPAC, APAC, Linac and ICALEPCS series of conferences, ably assisted in this task by local staff. Thanks to the work of this team and the careful preparations and guidance of Dr. Winfried Mitaroff, Mrs. Christine Petit-Jean-Genaz and Dr. John Poole, a preliminary version of the proceedings was published on the Web on 20 July, only three weeks after the conference. For the first time two volunteers from PAC (BNL) gave efficient help at the conference desk.

The success of EPAC 2000 can be attributed to the efforts of the OC, chaired by Stephen Myers, the SPC, chaired by Jean-Louis Laclare, the LOC: Wolfgang Adam, Rudolf Frühwirth, Manfred Jeitler, Susanne Kalina, Manfred Krammer, Winfried Mitaroff, Rudolf Wedenig, all HEPHY, Christine Petit-Jean-Genaz, CERN, Sigrid Zehrl, Austropa Interconvention, chaired by Meinhard Regler, the local staff from HEPHY and Austropa Interconvention, and of course all of the participants.

M. Regler

Chairman of the EPAC 2000 Local Organizing Committee