JACoW logo

Joint Accelerator Conferences Website

The Joint Accelerator Conferences Website (JACoW) is an international collaboration that publishes the proceedings of accelerator conferences held around the world.

Title Longitudinal Bunch Size Measurements with an RF Deflector at J-PARC LINAC
  • M. Otani, K. Futatsukawa
    KEK, Tsukuba, Japan
  • K. Hirano, A. Miura
    JAEA/J-PARC, Tokai-mura, Japan
  • Y. Liu
    KEK/JAEA, Ibaraki-Ken, Japan
  • T. Maruta
    FRIB, East Lansing, USA
Abstract Measurement of the longitudinal bunch size is important for the stable beam operation. Especially in a medium energy beam transport (MEBT) located after a radio-frequency quadrupole in J-PARC, it is necessary to measure the bunch size with minimum set of equipment to avoid subsequent emittance growth due to space charge. We had proposed a longitudinal size measurement with an rf deflector normally used for deflecting the╬╝bunch; phase spread is migrated to spatial one if the reference particle arrives at the deflector when the voltage is rising in time and is zero. Then a buncher cavity located upstream of the deflector is utilized to scan the phase spread to measure the longitudinal beam parameters. In this poster, recent measurement results are presented.
Paper download TUPAK008.PDF [0.255 MB / 3 pages]
Export download ※ BibTeX LaTeXText/WordRISEndNote
Conference IPAC2018, Vancouver, BC, Canada
Series International Particle Accelerator Conference (9th)
Proceedings Link to full IPAC2018 Proccedings
Session MC4 Poster Session
Date 01-May-18   09:00–12:00
Main Classification 04 Hadron Accelerators
Sub Classification A08 Linear Accelerators
Keywords simulation, radio-frequency, linac, rfq, DTL
Publisher JACoW Publishing, Geneva, Switzerland
Editors Shane Koscielniak (TRIUMF, Vancouver, BC, Canada); Todd Satogata (JLab, Newport News, VA, USA); Volker RW Schaa (GSI, Darmstadt, Germany); Jana Thomson (TRIUMF, Vancouver, BC, Canada)
ISBN 978-3-95450-184-7
Published June 2018
Copyright © 2018 by JACoW, Geneva, Switzerland     CC-BY Creative Commons License
cc Creative Commons Attribution 3.0