JACoW logo

Joint Accelerator Conferences Website

The Joint Accelerator Conferences Website (JACoW) is an international collaboration that publishes the proceedings of accelerator conferences held around the world.

Title Booster RF Upgrade for SPEAR3
  • S. Condamoor, S. Allison, J.J. Sebek, J.A. Vásquez, J.V. Wachter
    SLAC, Menlo Park, California, USA
Abstract SLAC's SPEAR3 Booster RF system was recently upgraded where the existing klystron providing RF power to a 5-cell cavity was replaced with a Solid State Amplifier (SSA). The Low Level RF Controls (LLRF) to drive the SSA was provided by a high performance FPGA based system built on SLAC ATCA modules. RF Cavity Tuner Controls were replaced with EtherCAT-based stepper motor controller. New hardware was designed and built for PLC-based Machine Protection System (MPS). Fast digitizers to sample and acquire LLRF signals were implemented in a LinuxRT Server. All of these required new Controls Software implementation. This poster illustrates the Controls associated with each of the above hardware.
Funding Work is supported by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science under Contract DE-AC02-76SF00515
Paper download TUPHA014.PDF [1.531 MB / 5 pages]
Poster download TUPHA014_POSTER.PDF [0.895 MB]
Export download ※ BibTeX LaTeXText/WordRISEndNote
Conference ICALEPCS2017, Barcelona, Spain
Series International Conference on Accelerator and Large Experimental Control Systems (16th)
Proceedings Link to full ICALEPCS2017 Proccedings
Session Poster Session
Date 10-Oct-17   16:45–19:00
Main Classification Control Systems Upgrades
Keywords ion, controls, EPICS, booster, interface
Publisher JACoW, Geneva, Switzerland
Editors Volker RW Schaa (GSI, Darmstadt, Germany); Isidre Costa (ALBA-CELLS, Cerdanyola del Vallès, Spain); David Fernández (ALBA-CELLS, Cerdanyola del Vallès, Spain); Óscar Matilla (ALBA-CELLS, Cerdanyola del Vallès, Spain)
ISBN 978-3-95450-193-9
Published January 2018
Copyright © 2018 by JACoW, Geneva, Switzerland     CC-BY Creative Commons License
cc Creative Commons Attribution 3.0